Catskills country style

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Rizzoli ;
Pub. Date:
2002.
Language:
English
Description
The Catskills is the favored new retreat for New Yorkers. Only ninety minutes from the city, it's closer than the Hamptons and much more affordable. As a consequence, this once thriving area is having a huge revival as a weekend-vacation place. Catskills Country Style, the first book of its kind on the Catskills and its new style--what might be called urban-country-folk design--showcases this new style in the cottages and cabins of the region. Intriguing historic houses are included as well as a collection of more contemporary homes. Among these is Olana, the 1860s Moorish-style country estate of Frederic Church, the great American landscape artist and leading figure of the Hudson River School of painting. Also included is Pennyroyal Cottage, the 1880s first American woman to have her own design firm. These historic houses are the forerunners of the retreats of many current New York City-based artists, bohemians, designers, and stylists. Current owners of Catskills country style houses are instrumental in shaping trends of today's look. These stylish innovators are creating an aesthetic with a new twist, recycling ideas as well as furniture with an individualistic philosophy that features an eclectic mix of flea market, yard sale, antique and handmade furniture, sometimes peppered with the latest international high-design avant-garde furnishings. This is a book in the tradition of Rizzoli's Charleston Style and Santa Barbara Style, and give us a glimpse into the homes and lifestyles of an influential and fascinating group of people.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780847824687
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8b8eb20e-6724-0e0b-9d82-e058c85dc0b2
Grouping Titlecatskills country style
Grouping Authorgross steve
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-27 22:54:08PM
Last Indexed2019-11-15 03:09:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Daley, Susan, 1953-
authorGross, Steve.
author2-roleDaley, Susan,1953-
author_displayGross, Steve
available_at_evldEVLD Eagle Public Library
detailed_location_evldEVLD Eagle Public Library
display_description
format_category_evldBooks
format_evldBook
id8b8eb20e-6724-0e0b-9d82-e058c85dc0b2
isbn9780847824687
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b21452222.i35278067EVLD Eagle Public Library747 GRO1falsefalseOn Shelfeve
itype_evldNon-fiction
last_indexed2019-11-15T10:09:25.464Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_evld747 GRO
owning_library_evldEVLD Eagle Valley Library Dist.
owning_location_evldEVLD Eagle Public Library
primary_isbn9780847824687
publishDate2002
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b21452222BookBooksEnglishRizzoli ;2002.208 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_evld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b21452222.i35278067On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue2, 101, 102, 104
subject_facetInterior decoration -- New York (State) -- Catskill Mountains
title_displayCatskills country style
title_fullCatskills country style / Steve Gross ; photographer, Susan Daley ; introduction, Francine Prose
title_shortCatskills country style
topic_facetInterior decoration